Why is Dental Care in the US So Very Expensive?

Stephen Sovie
Publishous
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2018

--

Wikipedia

When we lived in Malaysia our home was right across the street from a dental clinic, which was one of many on the island of Penang. This clinic was as modern or probably more modern than most I have seen in the US. The equipment was state of the art and the dentists were all trained in Germany or other countries in Europe, as well as the highly rated dental schools in Malaysia. When I knew that we would be soon going to the US to live, Kevin and I made a trip to our local dentist to get a check up and some dental work done , as we knew dentistry in the US was expensive. Kevin had 2 wisdom teeth removed and I had a filling and a bridge made. The total cost for the two of us was about 500 US dollars for excellent work.

Now we live in the US and of course I chipped a couple of teeth and I needed a couple of fillings. I knew that it was inevitable that I had to visit the dentist. I began the process of searching for a dentist, even though I knew there would probably not be too much of a difference in the cost. I asked around and discovered that no one dentist came highly recommended, so I randomly chose one near where we live.

The dreaded day came when I made my initial visit to the dental office. I must say it was a pleasant experience, as the dentist and his staff were very cordial and explained everything to me. The first day I had an examination and x-rays, which were expected. I…

--

--

Stephen Sovie
Publishous

A liberal retiree who loves writing about politics, social issues, my pets and my life experiences. You can buy me coffee here, https://ko-fi.com/stephensovie