Why Racism Makes Me Wear a Polo or Dress Shirt 90% of the Time

The crazy times we live in make me dress nicer than wearing an old t-shirt.

Tom Handy
Publishous

--

Dress shirt photo by Ozone Jeydin from Pexels

In most of my online photos, you’ll see me wear a polo or dress shirt. Normally, I’m comfortable wearing a t-shirt and sweatpants.

The big question is why do I wear a polo or dress shirt?

It’s because of one disgusting word that makes the news almost daily.

Racism.

If you’re white, you could walk into a store in a t-shirt and jeans and no one would say a word to you. As a minority, it’s a different story. Wherever you go, someone is always watching you.

The other day, I had to make a quick trip to Walmart. I didn’t have time to change since I had dropped my son off at school. When I make quick trips like this, I’ll wear my t-shirt and sweatpants.

On this trip, I had to make a stop at Walmart to pick up some groceries. It wasn’t a lot of food but also an item needed at home.

I tried to make this a quick trip. I wanted to get in and out of the store in a few minutes at the most.

As I was using the self-checkout, I noticed one of the Walmart clerks walked up and stood a few feet away from me. This was not normal…

--

--

Tom Handy
Publishous

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine, & Who's Who. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15