Source: Pexels.com

Why Serious Medium Writers Need a Personal Website

And how to get one fast

Danny Forest
Publishous
Published in
5 min readFeb 21, 2020

--

When I started writing back in January 2018, I never expected I’d still be writing today. I was a software engineer, building video games for a living. My only reason for writing was to improve my written English. But within the first month, I was already published by an important publication and had become a top writer in 7 categories.

I knew then that I had to get more serious about it. So I got myself a domain name and built a website around my writing. From my early days, I was already training my readers to look at my other work. This eventually led to transform my “personal brand” into a self-improvement business, Forest Co.

Today, I don’t work much in the video games industry anymore, spending most of my hours on Forest Co. And that was possible only because I have been telling my readers about it in my articles, in my bio, and in my call to action at the bottom of my articles.

If you want to take your writing to the next level like I did and turn it into a portfolio, personal brand, or business, you need a website.

Top reasons for Medium writers to have a personal website

--

--

Danny Forest
Publishous

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.