Why Single People Seem To Look Happier

No, having a partner doesn’t make you miserable. There’s something else behind this fact.

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

--

Photo by Ivana Cajina on Unsplash

“Singleness suits you.”

I said these words to my ex-sister-in-law after seeing her by chance in a restaurant after a year without hearing from her.

She looked completely different from the last time I saw her. She had long and shiny hair. She had lost weight. And she was well dressed.

But what surprised me the most was her smile.

We talked a little about her life and how everything was going. She told me she started following her dream of becoming a musician and found a job that let her sing with her band weekly in the same place.

She also told me that she had new friends, that she was going out more often, and that she had found new hobbies.

I felt like she was a completely different person. She looked happier than ever.

And that made me overthink.

I never sensed that she was unhappy with my brother (they even broke up because they wanted different things in life at some point, but they ended everything on good terms). But she was different from what she is now.

--

--

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/