Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

Disability

Why You Need To Get Out of My Way If You’re Not Injured

Awareness is the first step in trying to be helpful to those less fortunate

Publishous
Published in
3 min readMar 19, 2024

--

I limp across the dance floor with both arms spread out like wings, taking up as much space as possible. I’m holding onto my partner, so I won’t fall. We try with limited success to avoid a crowd of line dancers who are trying to monopolize the space. My partner tells me to watch out for them as we come close to the line of energetic seniors enjoying a dance without partners. I try to take up more space without bumping into them.

As a woman with a disability, I’m often amazed by how oblivious most of the population is as far as looking out for someone like me who may fall or be otherwise injured due to their carelessness. You may have similar experiences with so many who are looking down at their phones as they walk down the street, completely unaware of who or what they may be walking toward. I have narrowly avoided disasters that could be prevented by able-bodied people simply having a better awareness of their surroundings.

I believe the burden is on these capable people to avoid walking into me because it is so much easier for those who aren’t dealing with an acquired brain injury like I am. By necessity, I am keenly aware of my…

--

--

Victoria Ponte
Publishous

Writing to share wonder, gratitude and a sense of humor. Poetry, life lessons, survivor. https://youtube.com/@victoriaponteagain?si=KnAt8YLlTziU6IUc