Why You Shouldn’t Be Living for Your Dreams

Working towards your goals is great, but living for them is another story.

Dawn Bevier
Publishous

--

Image by Siam on Adobe Stock.com

Your fairy godmother doesn’t answer your texts. And you can’t understand why.

Well, let me put it to you straight. She’s drawing names out of a hat, and your name’s at the bottom.

Not fair, is it?

And it’s not only unfair, but it’s also heartbreaking.

However, like it or not, it’s life.

The truth is we’ve been taught that if we follow the experts’ advice, we’ll have a New York Times bestseller. We’ve been brainwashed into believing that if we work hard enough, we’ll get the promotion, status, or six-figure salary we crave.

So we burn the candle at both ends. We work when we’re sick, when we’re emotional wrecks, and when all we want is to cuddle under our covers and rest.

Sad fact: Hard work and knowledge don’t guarantee success.

In many ways, we’re killing ourselves for dreams that may or may not come true.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not a quitter, and I’ll continue to fight for my dreams.

However, lately, I’ve been asking myself a lot of questions. For example, what if I don’t reach my goals…

--

--

Dawn Bevier
Publishous

I am a teacher, thinker, learner, and writer. You can reach me at dawn.bevier@yahoo.com