Life Could Be a Cinch

Allow me to tell you a tale of old air-conditioners, potato chips, $32 million in real estate, and cute nails — with a promise that in the end, it’ll all make sense

Jesse J Rogers
PublishRE

--

An old air conditioner coming out of a dirty wall
Photo by Vladislav Nikonov on Unsplash

I had aced the real estate practice exam dozens of times, pretty much every time I had ever taken it. When it came time for the moment of truth, I dragged my feet about going in for the real thing.

Why? It isn’t that I was afraid I wouldn’t pass. I’m pretty good at tests. The problem is that I just didn’t know what the next step would be after getting my license, other than venturing by myself into the great unknown. In Florida, it seems like everyone with a good smile is a real estate agent. What’s my edge? What’s my plan? Sure, I get the license then what? How do I translate that into action and reward?

Indecision is costly, friends. Months of a hot market passed me by.

Eventually, my wife put me on the phone with a childhood friend of hers named Cory Ellsworth who had recently moved back to the area. Cory had been very successful in selling real estate in North Carolina but was for the most part starting from scratch again down here in Florida.

And he was looking for a partner.

--

--