Pursuit of Hoppiness

Florence Brewing is more than a local watering hole

The brewery is designed so people will come for the beer, but leave having made more friends.

Jason Cipriani
PULP Newsmag

--

When I first heard about Florence Brewing Company, I was puzzled by the idea of a brewery opening in Florence. To me, Florence was nothing more than a name on a sign along Highway 50 between Pueblo and Canon City.

Don’t get me wrong, I know a few people from Florence, and I’ve heard great things about it! But, I’d never visited Florence as far as I can remember. To me, it’s one of those small towns I often hear about, but never see.

Why would someone open a brewery in a small town off the beaten path?

After talking with Florence Brewing Company’s owner and head brewer, Hans Prahl, the reason is actually simple: Family.

Prahl traveled the around the world during a total of 18 years service in the military. He went from wearing a suit and tie, sitting in front of a computer every day, to chasing a dream and opening a brewery of his own.

As an Aurora native, Prahl doesn’t have family in Florence, yet after two years of constant searching and concocting a 42 page business plan, he chose Florence for his brewery.

A home brewer for seven years, Prahl’s vision for Florence Brewing is one that creates a familial atmosphere for locals and tourists alike.

Last month, as Prahl and I are sitting at the end of a German-inspired family table, he explains his vision: “Everyone has three places. First place is home. Second place is work. I want Florence Brewing to be the third place.”

Prahl learned of the three place philosophy while reading The Great Good Place by Ray Oldenburg. A persons “third place,” according to the book, is a place where he or she can get away from life worries, be surrounded by friends and family. Having a third place leads to a healthy, happy life.

By using family-style seating, you’re forced to sit next to complete strangers, and odds are by the end of the night — after a couple of beers — you’ve gained a new friend or two. Repeat the process a few times, and everyone begins to feel like, you guessed it, family.

During my first visit to Florence Brewing (also my first visit to Florence proper), my wife and I sat across from an older local couple who were also trying the place for the first time. The husband had a flight of seven beers in front of him, and the wife had a newspaper in front of her.

He would sip on a beer, think about it for a minute, and then bug his wife to give it a try. After each taste, she would ask if he was ready to go home. He consistently rebuffed her requests, insisting he was going to finish his beer. Eventually he did, but not before all four of us started talking about the different varieties of beer on the menu and what our favorites were that night (Blonde Ale for him, Hefeweizen for me).

Prahl’s vision isn’t one of marketing gimmicks, it’s something that’s truly happening in Florence Brewing.

The tap list at Florence Brewing will offer a constant lineup of house beers. Ranging from a downright delicious Blonde Ale to a Sweet Stout that’s easily one of the best stouts I’ve ever had the pleasure of drinking, to an easy drinking Hefeweizen.

Prahl’s approach to brewing is: “Keep it simple.”

You’ll never find a beer with a dozen different grains and overly complicated hop schedules on the tap list, Prahl told me. In fact, he only uses single hop variety for each beer. The Citra IPA has citra hops, while the Citizen IPA has centennial hops.

Recently, he began serving a limited edition Harvest Double IPA. All of the chinook hops used in the beer are sourced from a hop farm near Cripple Creek, and were used within 24 hours of being picked. Talk about fresh ingredients.

Unfortunately, during my visit the Harvest Double IPA wasn’t quite ready so I had to forgo a taste.

As is common among tap houses, you won’t find a kitchen inside Florence Brewing. Instead, Prahl relies on local food vendors like Backyard Barb-E-Que, Papa’s Pizza, and That Truck food truck. And yes, you can bring in your own food.

Just before my conversation with Prahl ended, I asked him if there was anything else I needed to know about Florence Brewing.

He thought a minute, smirked, then told me “People in Fremont County love beer.”

It was clear to me this was his way of saying Florence Brewing is doing fine, and will continue to serve the area craft beer for years to come. He has the support of his community, and soon that community will be his family.

On Tap: Bell’s Brewery has begun distribution in Colorado, meaning its Two Hearted Ale is in town. Pick up a six pack from Hercules Liquor, Oscars Liquor, or Big Bear.

--

--

Jason Cipriani
PULP Newsmag

I write about technology for a living. I brew beer for fun.