A Love Letter To The Sick And Disabled During A Pandemic

But before we talk about our love, we need to talk about our anger. Since we haven’t been able to be “productive” we may be left to die.

Katie Tastrom
PULPMAG

--

WWhat a weird time for us. As COVID-19 is making its way around the world, I’ve been thinking a lot about us. I’ve mostly been worrying, to be honest. I think we all are. So I wanted to write us a letter, specifically a love letter, that barely skims the surface of my gratitude for us.

I also am longing for connection and though everyone is talking about sickness, no one is talking to sick people.

While it’s a love letter to you, it’s also a love letter to myself. A tether to my community of crips who are out there existing when all I can do is cry and try to squeak out a few words through all the Ativan in my bloodstream. And I know I don’t owe anyone anything, but I owe it to myself to keep trying to connect in the ways that I know how, and this is one of them.

A picture of my face with lots of makeup

--

--