The Pulpit Presents: The Glass Ceiling

July Westhale
PULPMAG
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2020

--

TThis week’s stories are all about keeping ourselves hyped, in whatever way we can. We started the week out with a deep dive into American culture surrounding motherhood and mental illness: “The Crisis Of American Motherhood: Reading Sarah Menkedick’s New Book “Ordinary Insanity”, by Colleen Rothman:

“Despite having chosen to become a mother five years ago, I was unprepared for the messy reality that followed. First, the physical experience of childbirth recovery (still taboo enough to get banned from primetime television), hinted by friends who suggested I steal hospital provisions before returning home.

Later came the obsessive worries that led to frantic Googling; the rumination upon details of a birth that hadn’t gone as planned; the intrusive thoughts that visualized every worst-case scenario; the waves of grief over the loss of my youth; the guilt over not kicking ass at motherhood like the other moms in my social-media feeds. I didn’t understand how I could love my son so deeply while feeling so ambivalent about the role I’d assumed, though telling that story seemed as unthinkable as appearing on TV in mesh hospital underwear.”

Next up, we have an interview by yours truly with your new favorite rapper, Vbae: “What We Love About ‘Drugz’: An Interview With Rapper Vbae”:

“Music for me was always…

--

--

July Westhale
PULPMAG

co-founding executive editor of medium.com/PULPMAG. Writer, translator, professor, media roustabout. Gender queer (she/they).