Vanishing Twin Syndrome

We wanted two kids, but one at a time. It would be so much easier with one. We can do this, we said. But just like that, we didn’t have to.

Family Resemblance
PULPMAG

--

II had a hard time believing. Believing I would ever get pregnant, and then believing I was actually pregnant. During those three years of failed conception, I’d try to determine if I felt pregnant before every test I took. Was my anticipation and excitement based on an intuitive feeling or just idle hope? For just a moment, I’d try to wish a child into existence.

IVF produced three embryos and my doctor implanted one, leaving two on ice.

When that one didn’t take, I took a couple month break from fertility treatments. I let myself become so used to the appearance of single lines, I wondered if my body could ever overcome my disbelief. I let myself believe I wasn’t a person concerned with getting pregnant, and for a couple months I was.

Then it was back to the making of life grind.

This time my doctor decided to be less conservative and implanted me with the two remaining embryos. And there I was again, alone with a pregnancy test. I had wanted more time with my uncertainty before knowing, but my husband reminded me we had agreed to find out as soon as possible. I couldn’t…

--

--

Family Resemblance
PULPMAG

Writer/storyteller. Subscribe (https://tinyurl.com/vrxbwa7) to my email newsletter about the similarities that run in famous and not-so-famous families.