[How to] Create awesome applications for Ubuntu(and other Linux distributions) in 10 minutes

Puneet Singh
techpsl
Published in
2 min readJan 19, 2012

I can easily remember initial days of my Linux use, when I was naive and just started getting the feel of open source. As soon as I understood the concept I wanted Contribute back to the community. Or may be at least find my own problems and make an app to solve them.

I wanted something which was easy to code and fast to develop/deploy. While searching I came to know about Gambas. I found that programming in it is easy like cutting cake and deploying your project is as easy as eating that cake.

Before starting let me introduce to Gambas:

What is Gambas?Gambas is the name of an object-oriented dialect of the BASIC programming language as well as the integrated development environment that accompanies it. Designed to run on Linux and other Unix-like computer operating systems, its name is a recursive acronym for Gambas Almost Means Basic. Gambas is also the word for prawns in the Spanish language, from which the project’s logos are derived. [Source: wikipedia]How easy is writing a Hello World Program?Well it took me less than 2 minutes to create a Hello World windows program. It is too easy. and the final results are quiet satisfactory. The application looks native and I felt no speed lags.

What is the language?Gambas, as told earlier is a tool which can compile your BASIC code and comes with an awesome IDE. The best part is it supports object-oriented programming concepts.Why not Perl / Python / and Others?Well it totally depends on person to person and personal choice. But I feel for newbiews who want to contribute in OSS and does not have inclination towards programming can use it. Moreover it is quite fast [See Benchmarks].To develop apps for Ubuntu( just like you can do and submit for Android) go to this page http://developer.ubuntu.com/get-started/There are many alternatives, just choose what suits you, here We will give a small tutorial for creating apps using GAMBAS.
If you have any further query/suggestion you can post them to us in the comment.

Lets begin with the tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClLX76nDK1g

Once you get hold of Gambas you can beautify your applications using gnome HIG or the guidelines which are coming soon for Ubuntu.

Stay tuned for more Tutorials coming on Tutafuta.

--

--

Puneet Singh
techpsl

Machine Learning @ Factset, ex-blogger, wannabe-writer, Science-lover, student for life. Other interests: Entrepreneurship, Photography, Politics, SelfHelp