Coronavirus Diary-Day 0

David Guba
Punk Rock Self-Care
1 min readNov 18, 2021

Day 0

I started a new medication on Monday, an antibiotic for an infection. During lunch on Tuesday, I realized that everything was bland, and tasted the same. I tried tasting and smelling raw garlic and ground coffee. I ate a spoonful of a vinegary Mexican hot sauce. Nothing. I’d lost my sense of smell and taste. I googled side effects for the medication, and loss of smell/taste was one of them.

After a conversation with a very concerned pharmacist, I took an at-home COVID test which came back positive. I was having near constant brain zaps-I’d had them before, when I used to take a SSRI, and missed a dose. My whole body was achy, I had a headache. These symptoms made sense, along with the sniffle I’d had for a few days, but had dismissed as allergies.

I’d been SO CAREFUL for almost 2 years. Fully vaccinated, fastidious about masking. I’ve been fearful and anxious about getting COVID.

I’m trying to stay positive, but I know this is going to be difficult for my family and myself.

--

--

David Guba
Punk Rock Self-Care

Author, father of 3 daughters, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu practitioner, musician.