Talented Defensive End Recaps Purdue Camp

Dustin J
Purdue Takeover
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2018

Purdue is recruiting DE Ricky Barber, the strong side defensive end holds offers from Cincinnati, Purdue, Yale, and Indiana, and it appears like this will be a battle between the two hoosier state rivals.

In a recent interview, he told Purdue Takeover that he also had to play Offensive Guard last season as his team didn’t have the numbers to play him only on the defensive side of the ball.

“My biggest goal is to have better stats. This past year we didn’t have the players for me to play strictly defense so I had to play every snap at offensive guard and I lost a lot of reps on the defensive side. My plan since the end of our season has been to get in better shape that way I can play every snap of the game.”

He mentioned that the teams that were currently sticking out to him is Purdue, Indiana and Yale, but Indiana is recruiting him the hardest.

“Indiana is recruiting me the most and I talk to coach DeBord the most.”

*Coach Mike DeBord is currently the Associate Head Coach and Offensive Coordinator.

Ricky was on campus Saturday for the prospect camp. He left with a great impression of how Purdue is moving forward with the program.

“When I went to the camp on Saturday I got to experience there style of coach first hand and I loved it. What I’ve seen so far from the coaches there trying to change the culture of Purdue football and there trying to find the right guys to be apart of that. The facilities are some of the best I’ve seen so far.”

The new facilities has been impressing everyone and will definitely help in landing recruits.

Barber said he doesn’t have any Official visits set up but will be scheduling them soon. He currently doesn’t have a date or time frame for when he wants to commit.

“As of right now I don’t have a date in mind to commit I’m still open for anything and I’ll commit when I’m ready to.”

Ricky is currently rated as a 3 star prospect by 247 Sports and is considered to be the 12th best player in Kentucky. If you wish to follow Ricky on twitter follow him at @RIckyBarber75

--

--

Dustin J
Purdue Takeover

Journalism major at Ball State University #WeFly