Blog Post #1

Amanda Patterson
PURE 3600
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2020

February 11, 2020

My interest in Public Relations is actually pretty recent. For my first 3 semesters of college, I was a psych major. I decided on psych when I was a sophomore in high school, I thought it was my passion. At the time, my dream job was to be an adolescent psychotherapist. I know right- like, what even is that?

Later on, once I was actually in college, I made a few friends who were in the comm school, specifically PR, and I was intrigued. I had never really heard of PR as a discipline, only as something bitchy publicists do in the movies. But, once I learned more about it, I was hooked.

Since I switched my major, I began to love what I was doing in school, and was so eager to learn more about the world of communications.

I’ve done a lot of thinking about what I would like to do as a career and I’ve come up with 4 potential options:

  1. Doing PR for an NBA team
  2. Being a social media manager for a lifestyle or beauty company such as Refinery29 or Cosmo
  3. Doing PR for a non-profit organization that works with people experiencing poverty and homelessness
  4. Event/wedding planning

Since each of these options is wildly different, I really don’t know where I’ll end up. But one thing I do know is that each option excites me equally as much. In my future career, whatever it may be, I do anticipate that I will be able to apply these fundamentals that I am currently learning. News releases, fact sheets and general PR writing skills are all things I will need to know in order to be successful in my field, and I am genuinely excited to be learning them now, so close to the time when I will need to put them to the test in the real world!

Keywords: PR, Milwaukee, Public Relations, Career, Future

--

--