Don’t Ask a Question

A short story in response to the For the Love of Writing Valentine’s Day prompt.

Bill Holmes
Pure Fiction

--

Photo by devn on Unsplash

“Chris?” Regina called my name from my bedroom.

“I’m here.” I answered from the living room of my one-bedroom apartment, never looking up from my journal as I continued writing.

I heard my girlfriend rise from the bed and saw her walk through the entrance. Regina joined me inside the dimly lit room by the single lamp on the end table near me. She rubbed her eyes and sat beside me on my tan sofa. “What time is it?”

I placed the journal on my lap and reached for my cellphone on my coffee table. “2:43 am. Didn’t want to wake you but you know how my muse is.”

She raised her hand and chuckled. “Hey, I get it, Kid. Sometimes a melody for a song will pop up inside my mind and I’ll jot it down before I lose it, especially when I’m supposed to be working.”

I returned my cell phone to the table. “Mm hmmm.”

“Sorry if I’m disturbing you.”

“It’s all good.”

Regina chuckled. “You amaze me.”

I crossed my arms. “How so?”

“Your passion and dedication for your writing,” Regina combed her fingers through her auburn hair. “It’s impressive…

--

--

Bill Holmes
Pure Fiction

Writer. Poet. ESSENCE Best Selling Author. Filmmaker. Personal development aficiando who lives and breathes the mantra "I will not be denied!"