The Old Man’s Forest

Hidden amidst the shadows of the trees, taller than the giant mountain still visible in my sight, there he stood: the old man, cracking his bony fingers together, creating a sound that would haunt me for the rest of my days.

Nuno Padovani
Pure Fiction
6 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Image by awildmiss on DeviantArt

Against my will, my father assigned me the task of hunting down the beast that had been spreading fear in our village. It consisted of a small cluster of poorly constructed wooden houses, always on the verge of decay. We would pray for the winters to show us mercy so our homes could withstand the onslaught of the frigid winds, which we believed to be the gods’ punishment.

I was already filled with fear. The forest was too dark for my naked eye, and the relentless wind refused to allow any fire to be lit, leaving me in complete darkness. Yet, my father remained unwavering, always complaining about my education and perspective on life. Being a Hunter was an essential part of our family’s legacy, and refusing the task would bring shame upon our name. I had no choice.

I did possess the skills required for hunting, of course. Even my mother had learned from the stories shared by my father and his brother, and the lessons they passed on to us for future hunts. They believed that both men and women were capable hunters, saying, “As long as you have muscles, you can move, and as long as you have eyes, you can observe,” every time the topic arose at our dinner table.

I woke up a few minutes before sunrise, hoping to gain an advantage over the creature I was about to confront by resting. Anxious about the uncertain future that awaited me that day, I gathered my wooden bow, engraved with our village’s emblem and equipped with the strongest strings made from the finest horsehair, capable of launching an arrow that would sing through the air. I also took my quiver, fully stocked and ready for immediate use, my hunting trousers crafted by my family for my sixteenth birthmark, and set off. Little did I know that my arrogance in not bringing any food, assuming it to be a simple task, would lead me to starvation. The people in the village always tend to create false stories of this forest to scare the children, so they don’t feel like venturing there alone.

I ran. My house was only a couple horse steps from the forest, and I aimed to reach it as quickly as possible so I wouldn’t have a chance to second-guess my decision. I was familiar with the forest, having ventured into it a couple of times before, and I followed the tracks left by previous hunters to navigate through its maze of trees and leaves. Upon reaching what seemed like the center of the forest, I paused to rest and double-checked my inventory of wooden weapons. That’s when I heard it — a distinct cracking sound. It could have been a grey rabbit stepping on tree branches, but my training had taught me never to take chances. I proceeded cautiously, moving toward the source of the sound. However, no animals were in sight, and the rising sun improved my visibility, contradicting what my ears had initially suggested.

I continued, this time proceeding on foot. I was aware of the danger; my entire village wouldn’t fabricate the same story. I heard the cracking noise again. It was odd because just moments ago, I had confirmed the absence of any animals. I was filled with doubt and fear, but I pressed on with my search. I needed to discover the source of this strange sound; it couldn’t be anything, and the sun had already reached its zenith. After scanning the area for the origin of this unusual noise, I heard it again… and again. It was the same sound, neither louder nor quieter, but with each repetition, it felt like I was getting closer. My sense of hearing became more acute, guiding me toward the source. I moved toward the sound with my bow in hand, my fingers prepared to grasp the first arrow, and that’s when I saw him — the old man.

He had a grey beard, no hair, eyes as black as night, and a long hairy nose. He wore a long robe and a wizard’s hat, both a dark brown, blending with the deep redwood surroundings. The moment my eyes identified him, I sensed that he was aware of me, even though I had been moving as silently as a cat. Initially, I saw only his back, but he turned to face me, locking his gaze onto mine. Terror coursed through my body, sending chills down my spine. His eyes seemed to pierce my soul. Then, a silence fell over us as we stared at each other, unable to do otherwise. Breaking the silence of our confrontation, the old man began to laugh — a malevolent laugh with a pitch so high that it sent birds fleeing in fear for their lives. I, too, was gripped by panic. His appearance and actions up to that point left me with doubts. The laugh persisted, and I began to ask him questions, shouting over his laughter in an attempt to reason with him. It grew louder, reaching a point where I could no longer think or stand. My ears throbbed with pain, and I was certain blood was trickling from them. The laughter was unbearable, and I lost all awareness.

After two hours of torment, the laughter ceased, and the old man fixed me with the most serious gaze I had ever seen. He appeared angry, his mouth tightly shut, breathing heavily through his long nose. Suddenly, the sky darkened, forcibly extinguishing the day. I was sure the old man had caused it. It was still evening, and the abrupt disappearance of the sun left no trace of time. The sky turned pitch black, even darker than the old man’s eyes. Panic surged through me as I ran, desperately attempting to escape the forest. I made no noise, fearing that any sound would serve as a clue for the old man to track me. I relied on my knowledge of the forest and my belief in its protection.

I ran faster than I thought possible, weaving through the tall redwood trees, determined to find my way home. Despite my haste, thoughts of the old man continued to haunt me. He had invaded my mind, and I couldn’t focus on anything else. Nevertheless, I managed to reach my house, just a few trees away from escaping the forest of despair. I was terrified, knowing that nothing would allow me to sleep for several winters to come. I had no proof to substantiate the danger that everyone in the village spoke of — an evil wizard. Perhaps it was merely an innocent old man using trickery to inspire fear, but his appearance and actions left room for doubt.

I attempted to sleep that night, although it was true that the night had stolen away the day without anyone taking notice. I chose to ignore it as well. I lay down, hoping to rest and push the memory of the old man in the woods from my mind, but it was impossible. His laughter reverberated in my thoughts, and the clicking sound echoed from outside my window. It was horrifying, and I began to lose my sanity. The laughter and clicks grew louder with each attempt to suppress them. I was consumed by fear and panic once again.

Hours passed, and my descent into madness continued to torment me. My vision blurred, and my muscles weakened as time went on. I screamed, begging for it to stop. My father heard me and rushed to my room, located just a few steps away from the front door. The noise was so deafening that I couldn’t hear him approaching. As he reached for the doorknob, he shouted at me to stop and asked why I was making such a terrible racket. In my insane and weakened state, I couldn’t respond. It was only when he realized that I was falling into madness that he ceased shouting. His eyes betrayed his worry, as he had never witnessed anything like this before.

My body transformed into a pile of bones, skin, and ashes. My eyes disappeared into the void, consumed by the old man’s malevolent tricks. I succumbed to madness and dark magic that apparently lurked in the maze of death and wood just beyond my house. I was left weak, powerless, and lifeless, with no way to convey the message of the impending danger to the rest of the village.

Thank you for reading this short story.

I don’t have a schedule with what I publish, short stories, or thoughts.

I just write what I want when I want it. Trying to alternate between both.

I only hope you like what I write and feel what I try to share my own mind.

Thank you!

Nuno Padovani

--

--

Nuno Padovani
Pure Fiction

He/Him | Sharing my journey as an aspiring fantasy author. Writer of fiction/fantasy short stories and at times... my feelings and thoughts.