You have a memory

A very short story

David Beer
Pure Fiction
2 min readMar 21, 2024

--

Photo taken by the author (David Beer)

This is what boredom feels like. It was the fourth time I’d watched Total Recall. I hit pause, Schwarzenegger frozen in time, to check the notification that had buzzed on my phone. You have a memory, the app told me.

It was both strange and a cliché. A picture of an anonymous sunny place. A glistening sea, a sandy beach, visibly hot. An arching light put the closely huddled figures into shadow.

My feed was telling me that I was there with them, two years ago to this day. But I’d never been to Malta. I didn’t even go on holiday that August. Not that I could remember.

A blur of activity followed. These weren’t social media bots. I’d seen two of them yesterday. A prank maybe? I couldn’t immediately dismiss it. Yet at least one of these people hated pranks. Anyway, the coordination would have taken too much effort. And then there was the very natural flow of interactions racing across my feed.

As I began to voice my confusion etiquette pushed my finger on the delete key. The comments continued. If I claimed not to remember it would come wrapped with two insults. I would be questioning their sincerity. Or it would sound like the trip was so forgettable that I had no recollection of it. I held back, letting the reminiscence continue.

A year later. The 26th of August again. Recirculated by the app, that bland image of the beach. After a slight hesitation, tentatively, I started with a non-committal emoji. Then by repeating a yarn from last year’s tales. A warm response. I added something new. As I fabricated bits of a story others joined in, tying the threads and filling the gaps.

Then came the next image. A photo of me by the arches of Malta airport. I zoomed into the photo, as close as it would allow, looking at the edges of my hair for a sign of superimposition. I just couldn’t be sure.

A stock-image bank. I downloaded a photo. A river side. An ice-cream vendor. Old-looking brickwork on the left hand edge. The background full of blooming wild flowers and a classic car filling a small gap in the hedgerow. Four people crammed onto a riverside bench, silhouetted by the setting sun.

I thought for a moment, then tagged some people to it and posted the image. Four people would work: myself and three others on the bench and another taking the photo. The message I added was something to do with me having just received a notification of this memory. A trip to Holland four years ago. A slightly nervous wait. It took a few minutes, then the likes and messages started to bubble.

--

--

David Beer
Pure Fiction

Professor of Sociology at the University of York. His most recent book is The Tensions of Algorithmic Thinking.