excuse my absence lately

re: writing re: grind re: absence

Katherine Long
Pure katharcys
1 min readJul 21, 2013

--

It’s difficult to write when you are grinding because the grind is a grind is a grind: repetitive, relentless execution. I have heard that this is where greatness comes from.

Why am I writing less these days?

It’s not because there is no time. There is always time if you want to make time.

I think at the core of it, in the grind there is no room for doubt.

When I write, I need doubt, because there is no narrative without conflict. But when I grind, ain’t nobody got time for doubt.

And so after the grind, after a brief collapse from exhaustion, the ink starts flowing and the words come out with no end in sight.

--

--

Katherine Long
Pure katharcys

Créer, c’est vivre deux fois. Founder at Illustria, previously @Wharton