Befriending your Negative Thoughts

with Anthropomorphic method

Purilaw
Purilawed
2 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

Photo by Kobe — from Pexels

Anthropomorphic is something that I just learned a couple of months now. Basically its a method to humanize something, children do it all the time with their toys. And I my self has been using it as a method of my mental health care.

We all have negative voices, aren’t we? Some may have louder than the other. But we all heard them from time to time. Sometimes in the least situation we want, they’re just there. Living in the back of our mind, rent-free.

Since I’ve heard them almost majority of my time, I decided to name them. Just so, I can connect with them more.

So… Introducing, Neggy, the sounds of my negative voice. She doesn’t like peace and want me to see the glass half empty all the time. She likes to tell me I’m not good enough before I go to sleep at night, and remind me of all the shameful thing I did last week, when I wake up in the morning.

Neggy always there when I didn’t look. She’s like a toxic best friend that I never wanted. Neggy will never stop until she could make me cut my own veins (pardon).

But, by naming her. Somehow, I can befriend her. I would like to imagine that she’s the Kyuubi to my Naruto. She was sealed inside of me and she always try so make me miserable, her power can alienated me from my friends. But just as Naruto knew his actual name was Kurama. We can cooperate together.

And then this happened and the entire Shinobi world is saved.

Now every time I had negative thoughts, I could just say:

“Shut up, Neggy, I deserve to be happy!”

“Nobody ask for your opinion, Neggy!”

“Thank you for your concern, Neggy, but I can do this.”

…. And to my surprise, it worked like wonder!

It’s kind of a milestone for me, to be able to control my unwanted thoughts.

So I guess I’d share this method with you too, just in case you need it :)

--

--

Purilaw
Purilawed

She/her. Film school graduates. Psychology students. Mental Health Advocate. Born and raised a writer.