How Legit Are Dave Ramsey’s Money Methods?

Aphinya Dechalert
Purple Green Lemons
4 min readJun 12, 2022

--

At some point, we all encounter Dave Ramsey.

Mine came in the form of a YouTuber talking about his ‘7 Baby Steps’ method.

It’s not hard to get sucked into his podcasts after a while, especially if you’ve been wondering how to make ends meet with a baby, student loan, and temporary unemployment.

This was back in 2017.

Before all this pandemic madness started.

So there was a lot less sympathy back then.

Back then I had $25k left in student loan debt.

My bank account was being drained through the rent.

The landlord wanted to kick us out so he could sell his house.

I lost my job because the company died.

My baby was barely 7 months old and I was probably experiencing baby blues.

It was a fiasco of a mess.

So when Dave Ramsey came into my radar, he felt somewhat godsend.

7 Baby Steps

The 7 Baby Steps is basically this:

  • save $1,000 as the starter emergency fund
  • pay off all debt using the debt snowball (i.e. pay off the smallest debt first then use money to pay off next smallest debt)

--

--