Have you met Layla the Boxer and Luna?

How I fell in love with these two dogs and their owners

Connie Song
Purple Ink
2 min readMar 12, 2023

--

all rights reserved to dog owner & site creator Samantha @ _layla_the_boxer on TikTok

I see them as fun loving, co-conspirators. They are two dogs, a boxer named Layla and an Australian shepherd named Luna, always trying to outwit their adorable, devoted owners.

I find their antics and facial expressions sublimely hilarious. Not just the dogs.

You can see them on TikTok @ _layla_the_boxer.

I am busy as heck these days, but if I need a quick pick-me-up, I check them out.

Here’s seven reasons why:

  • Cool background music makes me smile.
  • The humans in the videos are fun to watch.
  • The outtakes and behind the scenes episodes are insightful.
  • Sometimes I get the feeling that the dogs are as tech savvy as their owners. Never underestimate the power of a well-placed treat and strategic camera angles.
  • I love the well-orchestrated skits. (Right up my alley.)
  • I love the magical bond between these two dogs. (Not to mention their
    bond with their loving owners.)
  • A tilt of the head, a look in their eyes, these dogs are cute. (You’ll see what I mean.)

Here’s one of my favorite episodes (p.s. they’re all my favorites).

all credit and rights belong to Samantha and @ _layla_the_boxer on TikTok

grace notes: Has your dog learned any human tricks? I would love to know. Are their expressions as subtle and expressive as Layla and Luna in the videos?

© Connie Song 2023. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
Purple Ink

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.