Stopping by Bethel Woods

memories of yesterday still live on

Connie Song
Purple Ink
2 min readAug 6, 2022

--

Photo of author by the Woodstock Commemorative Stone in Bethel Woods, upstate New York

I was not there
for the original Woodstock music fair
nor have I been to Coachella,
but I’ve been friends with Deadheads
and Pearl Jammers
and RedHotChiliPeppers.

One thing is certain throughout the land,
music and history go hand in hand.

© Connie Song 2022. All Rights Reserved.

grace notes: I have not been away on vacation yet since covid started, but I very much would like to get some friends together and see the immersive digital Van Gogh exhibit. Or have hot tickets to an Elton John concert.

Meanwhile, I do have this photograph of me visiting Bethel Woods in upstate New York. It is so green, tranquil and beautiful up there. It is also the home of the original Woodstock music festival in 1969.

Bethel Woods has vast grounds, the Woodstock Museum and The Bethel Woods Center for the Arts for current live music by performing artists like Brandi Carlile, Phil Lesh, Santana, The Beach Boys, and so many more.

Everyone stops to take a photo at the same spot as I did. The interesting thing about the commemorative stone is that it lists the musicians who performed for the three days of the music event, August 15, 16, 17, 1969.

Can you name even one of them?

Ok, peek below and I’ll have a link for you.

I don’t think anyone who attended or worked that concert could ever conceive that it would go on to define a cultural era in American history, let alone musical history.

As promised, here’s a link to the performers from Woodstock, 1969:

I just noticed that hair was definitely a big thing back then. I have to stop living in the past. If you want to read about my so-called love life in 2022, you need not go further than this piece below, though I’m fixing to write more about it soon.

© Connie Song 2022. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
Purple Ink

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Twitter Connie Song 10.