ESSAY

What Makes a Movie Star Elegant?

Inspired by two movies I’m watching this weekend

Connie Song
Purple Ink

--

This weekend, I’m watching Archie, a movie based on the life story of vintage actor, Cary Grant, on BritBox.

This made me realize I knew essentially nothing about the life of Cary Grant, born Archibald (Archie) Leach, so I was pulled in to his story. Even though I had not seen most of his films.

No, Cary Grant was not in The Matrix or Love Actually or The Devil Wears Prada or James Bond. Some of his famous later movies include Charade and North by Northwest.

Cary Grant’s movies span the decades. But I knew of him mostly as a larger-than-life cultural figure or icon with a distinctive voice and accent.

Still, I remembered that he was handsome in an elegant sort of way. I wonder if he was considered “hot” back in the day. You know, when people would “swoon.”

This also reminded me of some of Hollywood’s most elegant looking movie stars. “Debonair,” whatever that means. With impeccable style and fashion sense. Grace. Beauty. Charm. Charisma. Men and women both. Who are yesterday’s and today’s elegant movie stars?

So, if I were to pick, here’s my short list — I’m going with vintage here — Cary Grant, Audrey Hepburn and Grace Kelly.

Here’s why these three came to mind.

Watching the Archie/Cary Grant movie, I was reminded of those other two actors that worked with Cary Grant in the movies, namely Grace Kelly in To Catch a Thief (which I’ve never seen) and Audrey Hepburn in Charade (which I am watching now).

I would say Charade has interesting plot twists and elements of double identities, who-done-it-murder mysteries, breathtakingly scenic ambiance and sprinkles of romantic comedy.

Have you ever seen these movies?

I’d be curious to hear your top three movie stars that exude elegance in some way on the screen.

© Connie Song 2023. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
Purple Ink

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.