How to Put the Social back in Social Distancing

Blaise Sport Psych, EdD, CMPC
Pursuit of Excellence
5 min readApr 7, 2020

The phrase social distancing is everywhere. I’m sure you’ve already seen it about 100 times today alone. One thing I have seen repetitively is that many folks are confusing social distancing with social isolation. You do not have to go through this process alone.

In fact, it’s encouraged that you don’t try to ‘lone wolf’ it.

I have found myself coming up with new ways to be connected with my friends and family. Many of them I would never have considered before. I’m sure you’ve seen posts online of Zoom parties and group video chats. What was once an absurd idea has now become the new normal.

It’s important to look at ways to maintain a social balance. As human beings, we need social interaction. Take the time to consider how to bring more social activities into your social distancing practices.

Connect Consistently

I don’t need to explain to you that your routine has completely changed. However, it is important to maintain some sort of routine to help your overall well-being. So, make an effort to re-create a routine with your social connections.

I have been calling family members more than ever, speaking to my parents regularly and texting my friends to check in on how they are doing. My routine has morphed from what it previously was into something that looks very similar but bound by location. I keep the morning workout before work, call/text during breaks, and take longer than usual walks with the dog.

I now have a scheduled weekly video chat with family. It’s a great way to get connected and actually see everyone. I’ve now done video chat through four different platforms: Facetime, Zoom, Google Hangout, and BlueJeans. Each program has its ups and downs. My most preferred one to use at this time is Zoom.

Be intentional and reach out to your friends and family as part of a new routine. It doesn’t have to be long and drawn out conversations. A quick chat will be more than enough to show that you’re thinking of them.

Play Games Together

The wonderful thing about technology is that you can connect with your friends and plays games through online video chats and phone apps. Some of the most popular apps right now are Uno, Houseparty, Psyche, Evil Apples.

I have only had personal experience with Psyche. Each of use got to enter in a nickname and a funny photo, then we all got the same question pertaining to a member of the group. For example, a question could be “If Coach Blaise was in the news, what would it be for?” Each group member would input an answer. Who ever got the most votes would get points! The one downside is that there are advertisements but if you don’t mind that the game is good fun.

Reach Out

If you’re anything like the average person, then you probably have more than a few numbers in your phone of people you’ve been meaning to reach out to. Now is the perfect time to check in and catch up with your old friends.

One thing that has held me back in the past, is being thought of as a nuisance. I didn’t want to interrupt or take time away from other people’s busy schedules. However, with the current state of sheltering in place and social distancing, I have opened up my contacts in my phone and rekindled meaningful friendships from long lost friends.

Photo by DISRUPTIVO on Unsplash

I have found that every single person I texted has been open and happy to reconnect. We swapped a few texts about life updates and wished each other well. I wasn’t pushing for them to open up about the deep issues going on in their life. It was simply letting the other person I know I was thinking of them, I hope that they are doing well now and in the future.

I encourage you to look into your phone and text at least two people you’ve been meaning to check in with. You will make their day and bring positivity into yours.

Little bit of Kindness

Right now, there are quite few groups that need additional support. If you are able and willing you can donate to a cause that is currently working to help those who need more assistance. You can look up local foodbanks or donate to national services.

Look in your immediate area for opportunities to help. Offer to go grocery shopping for someone in your neighborhood who is at greater risk or share some extra cleaning supplies you might have. A little bit of kindness can go a long way.

Send a Care Package

Now you do not have to spend money to show people you care. This is just an additional option if you have the available resources. You can hop on a food delivery app and send a friend a goodie. You can use Grubhub, DoorDash, PostMates, or pick a local delivery option to send a family member or a friend something thoughtful.

I can’t begin to describe how happy I have been to receive an unexpected goodie. You can make someone’s day and even week by sending over a surprise.

Even better, it doesn’t have to be a surprise delivery. I have several friends who are working in the medical field right now. I have simply sent some coffee money directly to those who are working on the frontlines through Venmo and CashApp. You’re friends will be appreciative you’ve thought of them during these unprecedented times.

Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

Get Creative

With tough times and increased restrictions on certain actions, you have an opportunity to be more creative than ever. You don’t have to go out and make huge changes and try to connect with tons of people online. Taking the small step to increase your social connection will go along way in maintain your positive well-being. Reach out, send a text, or call someone you’ve been meaning to today.

Thanks for reading! I am a Certified Mental Performance Coach. Don’t miss out on information that can take you to the next level. Stay up-to-date, I will soon have spots available for one-on-one coaching. Join here!

--

--

Blaise Sport Psych, EdD, CMPC
Pursuit of Excellence

Certified Mental Performance Consultant® EdD in Sport and Performance Psychology. Learn more here: blaisementalperformance.com