My first two weeks as a Junior Graphic Designer at Push Doctor

Georgia Cozma
Push Doctor Design
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2019

Looking back to my first two weeks at Push Doctor as a Junior Graphic Designer, feels like an age ago, even though I’m only in my second month at the company. I had a gut feeling from the moment I stepped into reception for my first interview, throughout the design task I completed to secure my second meeting, and when I was offered the role of Junior Graphic Designer, that this was the right company for me to begin my design career in.

My first two weeks were a whirlwind of meetings and explanations of the ever growing and evolving work that goes on inside the company, and I was pleasantly challenged from my second day in the office, the first day being purely training, introductions and settling in. There’s an incredibly focused buzz around the office, everyone knows what they’re supposed to be doing and they all fit and work together in harmony. That’s probably the thing that’s stood out for me as being so different from anywhere else I’ve worked — how easy it is to talk to and work with other departments across the company, and how willing everyone is to help each other.

I had a pre-conception of how my first job as a designer would be, particularly as a Junior, I didn’t think I’d get much of a say in things or if I did, that it may be disregarded because of my position, and I believed I’d have someone checking in a bit too often on my work — but it has been almost the complete opposite of that. When I have an opinion it is taken on board, respected and valued. I’m also left mostly to my own devices, so I can come up with my own concepts and take them right through to completion without being micro-managed, although I know my managers and team are always there for support when I need advice or can’t quite figure something out, which has laid a great foundation of trust for me.

I’ve always believed that you could be in your dream job but if your team or the people you work with are no good, it will fall apart. Push Doctor is full to the brim of supportive and friendly staff and that is what has allowed me to feel settled and comfortable in my role here so far, and I look forward to seeing what the future brings.

--

--

Georgia Cozma
Push Doctor Design

Senior Product Designer at the BT Health Incubator in Manchester, UK.