7 Lessons in Self-Love & Connection for 2022

How embracing new moments helps us heal our hearts

Stephanie Parry
Put It To Rest

--

Author’s Own Photo of Tattoo with moon cycle, polyamorous symbol, and flames centered around heart and the words Every Moment above.

In February of 2020, I found myself on the beaches of Paradise, with sunsets so surreal even a picture couldn’t do them justice.

There were fruity drinks at the bar by the water, flirty moments with attractive strangers, tropical rain storms every afternoon, and the cool, humid air on my skin while lying on the bright, white sand beaches.

Paradise should have made me happier than ever, though my heart was shattered from the worst heartbreak and betrayal of my life. It was my birthday, and I didn’t want to live another day.

After a heartbreaking divorce and devastating breakup, my best friend and I decided at the last minute to take off on an impromptu trip to Hawaii. We both were grieving huge losses of our loves and lives by embracing adventure. We used this trip to recommit to our sovereignty as free agents, no longer tethered to another human being who could break us again… and we were both craving connection.

In our grief, we learn how much alike we are. Part of the human experience involves grief. Witnessing another's pain reminds us how fragile life truly is for all of us. We shared our grief by embracing new adventures and connecting with each other.

--

--

Stephanie Parry
Put It To Rest

Poet. Witch. Queer. Exploring Love, Sex, & Relationships. Flirting with societal norms. https://stephanieparry.medium.com/membership