Awaken

a poem

Jennifer L. Stafford
Put It To Rest
Nov 29, 2022

--

Image provided by Canva

The sweat that drips from your hips soaks the sheets with the sweet scent of freedom.

While the hearts beat…

Bah-dump
Bah-dump
Bah-dump

Take
the oxygen that I breathe.
From you into me.
Emerging from the darkness
the blinded eyes will see.

When the beating hearts bleed…

Bah-dump
Bah-dump
Bah-dump

Screaming, “yes please.”
Alignment takes over needs.
Fulfillment feeds.
Fulfillment frees.
Fulfillment is different from greed.

Can you not see?

Hand upon chest, listening…

Bah-dump
Bah-dump
Bah-dump

I feel free when I feel me.
Breathtaking beauty of being.
Heart racing and beating.
Sweat dripping.

Slowing down my breathing…

Bah-dump

Bah-dump

Bah-dump

I breathe with you,
freely.

--

--

Jennifer L. Stafford
Put It To Rest

Philosophically poetic self-love teacher, resilience hustler, mental health choreographer, wordsmith. Ivyrelationships.com