Butterflies In Their Bellies

a poem

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I don’t know what I would say
to my daughter

But I know that already
I speak to my sons
with more empathy

I notice when feelings
drown the body
and when they don’t eat
as much because
they have butterflies in their belly
or when they eat too much
to keep the butterflies
down

I try not to be one of those moms
but it fell out of my mouth, it did…

“You’re looking a little skinny,” I said
but I met that with
“You had a hard week”
and “it’s okay
you will pack it back on”

The butterflies had their way
with you this week
but it doesn’t mean
they will feed on you next week
when you settle them
with nourishment.

Lindsay Soberano-Wilson is the creator of Put It To Rest. Her debut full-length poetry book is forthcoming, Hoods

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson