Called Outside

They say

Fox Kerry
Put It To Rest

--

“Called Outside”, by Fox Kerry

I’m called outside
they say
they say
I’ve half a pickle to a barrel

Wish me luck
and wish me well
Bless me away from all peril

I can see the thoughts of men, you see
it’s like shooting ducks in a crate
I can see the heavens opening up
and swallowing men like slate

The bars in front of my nose
they stink
they stink
like the highest of Hell

and when they stink
they make me drink
and then I’m the ugliest belle

If I were you, I’d lock me up
but then again, I’m not you
but if I were … on a different day
I’d hand me the lock and the screw

I’d set me free
like a dolphin bird
I’d set me to playing with puffins

For here in this cell
where the men are not well
gentle ole me
grates with rough’ns

Fox Kerry

--

--

Fox Kerry
Put It To Rest

If you paint for me even one thing which is true, perhaps I’ll be tempted to consider two. I tell tales poetically, someone else needs to set them to music.