Connect to the Self to Connect to Others

How I learned to better the relationship with myself not only for me, but for others

Vincent Pisano
Put It To Rest

--

Tim Mossholder/Pexels.com

There are two quotes that have always stuck with me over the years.

“You need to love yourself first before anyone else will love you” and “You need to fill your own cup.”

I have taken what I have learned from these quotes and applied them to many areas of my life.

I have said in many different ways that growing up differently abled can be a very lonely path. I am also an INFJ and an empath. When something affects me or worries me, it affects me right down to my core.

Growing up as a loner, it took me a while to learn to love and embrace myself, and how to fill my own cup. Am I proud that it took me a full 35 years to learn those lessons? No. I am however happy with the growth and progress that I have made in the last few years.

I am not someone who gets a lot of alone time for various reasons, but there are ways that I water my relationship with myself to improve my relationships with others:

I stay up late:

Even though I get up around the same time every morning, I stay up until the early hours of the morning because this is the only time that I truly get…

--

--

Vincent Pisano
Put It To Rest

Writer of Erotica, living with Cerebral Palsy, and being an INFJ. MS in Sport Psychology and Motor Behavior from the University of Tennessee