“Conscious Parenting” Is When I Connect With Myself To Connect With My Kids

Writing Prompt: Connect with yourself to connect with others

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by Jessica Rockowitz on Unsplash

“The truth about intimate relationships is that they can never be any better than our relationship with ourselves” — James Hollis

There’s so much about parenting that challenges everything you know about yourself. Becoming a mother is one of the greatest gifts, and yet, it’s also trying when understanding your own triggers and emotions.

One of my battles, especially as a woman, has been having my feelings validated. More recently, I learned how difficult it is to validate my feelings, and my children’s feelings, considering that I grew up with parents who struggled to validate their feelings since they were also raised this way.

In part, this is due to the intergenerational trauma I experienced as the granddaughter of Holocaust survivors. There were also factors, such as growing up with an authoritarian parenting approach, and deeply embedded patriarchal values.

Despite such challenges, I’ve found a home in the conscious parenting style. That’s why I strive to connect with myself so I can connect more authentically with others…

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson