Fearless Love and Beauty

She’s resplendent and majestic, but her most enduring trait is the depth of her love for a broken man

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

--

Photo Credit: Kelsie Patton — Kelsie Patton Photography

Awakened from her sleep
The man she loves lies beside her, trembling

Soaking in sweat,
Her sheets, shredded and tossed onto the floor

Moving her lips,
And breathing his name

She wants to stop his torment
“I’m right here, my love”, she whispers softly

With a gentle kiss on his cheek
His eyes flutter open

She doesn’t recognize who she sees
Her relief suddenly besieged by panic

Despite living through this many times
It’s paralyzing to her

Through the flowing tears
She impulsively screams: “Please! Come back to me!”

Pulling him in closer to her,
Wrapping him up deep inside her protective cocoon

Filling his nostrils with her sweet scent
Her grace restores his peace

--

--

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

I write authentically about my journey with PTSD so that others may benefit from my experience. I also write about love and longing.