Put It To Rest: Poetry Month Challenge

Fragments of My Mind

a poem

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest
Published in
2 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

Taking a look inside
I see the broken pieces trapped within
Secrets I’ve spent a lifetime trying to hide
Change must start somewhere, but how do I begin?

So many fragments of me
Each with a different face
Each one of them can see
that I can’t keep up this pace

The inner child wants a childhood
The serious ‘me’ wants discussion
All of us just want a life that’s good
without any repercussions

The angry ‘me’ wants to release its rage
The balanced ‘me’ wants more faith
All of us want freedom from this cage
away from the darkness that lurks like a wraith

The wilder ‘me’ wants a huge dose of fun
The main ‘me’ at times wishes to be whole
Piece together all these fragments
so I can feel like I have a soul

I want to stop being afraid
I want to believe I can change
Time to clean up this mess I made
and prepare to turn the page

This story isn’t finished
There’s still so much to tell
once my illness has diminished
and I’m freed from this self-made hell

Piece them all together again
these fragments of my mind
Once that’s complete, that is when
I can leave this pain behind

Desiree Batiste is the author of “The Shaping of a Diamond”, a self-published journey through surviving abuse, domestic violence and more told through poems, which is available for purchase on Amazon. Find her on Medium, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok or on her website. Desiree Batiste ©2023.

--

--

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest

Author of "The Shaping of a Diamond". She is a survivor of child abuse and domestic violence who is passionate about writing and currently lives in Buckeye, AZ.