I Haven’t Had a Drink in 24 Years

But I’m Drunk

Melissa Steussy
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by Atikh Bana on Unsplash

I’m drunk
When I put
One more thing
In my cart that I don’t need

I enjoy the rush
Of clicking buy now

I’m drunk
When I go back to
That coffee shop
For more
After I’ve had my fill

I’m drunk
When
I look just a little too long
Fantasizing and
Coveting

I’m drunk
When I remember
About the pain,
I used to cause myself

When I poke holes
And wake up
Like I was
In a blackout

What happened
Last night
Was a familiar
Feeling

But getting wasted sober
Makes no sense

Don’t you think we all
Need a little
Reprieve

--

--

Melissa Steussy
Put It To Rest

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....