“I Miss You, Papa”

trying to take the burden off my chest after you left me

Ghina Zaidi
Put It To Rest
2 min readDec 31, 2021

--

A father carrying his young daughter, laughing together in a field.
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

I never said it out loud and I always choke,
It was heartbreaking and still crushes my soul,
The pain of your parting never gets old,
It hurts me within, like an eternal burning stone.

I miss you every day but I try to forget,
It hurt me the most but I didn’t show any effect.
I cried and I stopped, I had to be strong,
But I lost my strength since the day, you are gone.

I miss you in times I achieve so many things,
But still, my heart feels, I lost everything.
I miss your hand on my head & kisses on my face,
I miss your warmth that I cannot find in any other place.

I want to tell you I am alright and fine.
I was struggling before but I am doing good with time.

Like your brave warrior, I’m fighting with the world,
But your little precious is somewhere broken and hurt.
I still need you, why did you leave me alone?
I’m filled with a void, that eats me like a cyclone.

Ghina Zaidi

In the loving memory of my father, my biggest support, my mentor, and my everything. Someone whom I used to look up to in times of distress. The only person in this whole world for me who could put some sense in me when no one else could. It has been more than seven years since he left this world and I still miss him like it was yesterday.

He was my hero as every father is to a daughter and I was his princess like every other daughter is to her father. But I lost my hero and the little princess inside me at the same time. Death really does us apart.

--

--

Ghina Zaidi
Put It To Rest

Multi-Passionate Freelancer! writing poems and articles about the bitter society. Optimistic, detail-oriented. Writing for the love of it.