I Rejoice

a poem

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest
2 min readJun 25, 2023

--

Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

I rejoice
for the transformation
my life has taken
from a dark and desolate
wasteland; frightening and stagnate
to a chrysalis-wrapped fate

I rejoice
for the turn of fortune
that changed my love life
from a hopeless shackled lie
to a thriving and warm bed
where I am loved as a treasure

I rejoice
for although I had
a rough four decades
I am a bloom
which thrives because
of the fertilizer
life mired me in

I rejoice
for the first time
in my life
my family is not a charade
but a true portrait
of what it means
to be loved

I rejoice
knowing I finally found peace
and it did not require my death
to achieve it
but rather was manifested
into reality

I think of how far
things have come
and treasure every moment
in which I live
Every time I wake up
I rejoice.

Desiree Batiste is the author of “The Shaping of a Diamond”, a self-published journey through surviving abuse, domestic violence and more told through poems, which is available for purchase on Amazon. Find her on Medium, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok or on her website. Desiree Batiste ©2023.

--

--

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest

Author of "The Shaping of a Diamond". She is a survivor of child abuse and domestic violence who is passionate about writing and currently lives in Buckeye, AZ.