I will fight for every inch of you that takes a breath

seven perspectives about a mother’s love

Joao Coimbra
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by Jenna Norman on Unsplash

Rumi once told me you are like a guest house
invite every emotion in
let them sweep across you
for they will make way for a new delight

when I first told you I loved you
and it left my lips so seamlessly
like it had always been there for you
just waiting patiently
for we did not just meet somewhere
we were in each other all along

Mary told me to share my despair
for it will eat away at you
like the caterpillar does
before it closes itself off to the world

you showed me you were a warrior
without lifting a finger
valiantly upholding a mother’s true nature
to console our young when they are at their weakest

Robert told me green is the hardest hue to hold
and you hold him endlessly
however hard it may be

--

--

Joao Coimbra
Put It To Rest

A Portuguese Canadian writer that sets his hat down in Leeds, UK. My poetry is inspired by the Yorkshire countryside, love, loss, and meaning. ig: @joaowrites