Never-ending Nights

On nights with hotline numbers and past regrets in mind.

Reece Beckett
Put It To Rest
Published in
2 min readNov 17, 2021

--

Image taken and edited by the author.

My chest drags me down

Beneath my bed covers. My eyes try to cry

But I’m too weak to summon tears.

The same song stays on repeat, a tab open

With the hotline’s number

That I’ll be too timid to call.

I remember how your touch felt, running through my longer hair

I remember when my father left, feeling life just wasn’t fair

A domino effect, bad days beget bad days

And now when I feel good, even then the bad stays.

I wait with baited breath

For the lonesome nights like these

At a loose end writing

As It’s all I have to do.

I remember the envelope you sent

With shreds of paper of things I love

And a warm feeling envelops me, ’til I remember we don’t speak these days.

Silhouettes where friendship was, an abyss where intimacy made its home,

A heavy chest, a hurting heart, dry crying eyes and aching lungs.

A jaw clenched, face drenched, a bloody nose and weakened toes.

‘Early morning wash my swollen hands,

Hit the showers, cleanse my soul and crash.’

I’ll wake up tomorrow

And try to do it all again

Acting like it’s all fine

Like this depression is pretend.

Reece Beckett

--

--

Reece Beckett
Put It To Rest

Film/music critic and poet. New articles every Mon, Thurs & Sat. Poetry on Sundays! Contact: reecebeckett2002@gmail.com https://linktr.ee/reecebeckett