Put It To Rest: Poetry Month Challenge

No More PhotoShopping

This is the pith I mentioned; it’s edible now

Richard A. Steele
Put It To Rest
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2023

--

Photo by Rodnae Productions from Pexels

My stories were mid-sized white lies.
Slightly embellished to hide the shame
of Directionless and Chaotic,
of Unwise Decisions,
of Pleasing the Other.

My stories blamed Mother,
or this spouse or that wife
or my boss at where I should have stayed;
shoulda coulda woulda, like a language
surely designed for we of regretful remembrance.

Why did you give up on a science major?
What made you stay in school when you were barely passing?
Who told you to study accounting?
Why did you marry that irresponsible woman?
What possessed you to join the Army at 32?
Who said you should spend thousands on a wayward child instead of returning to college?

My stories were not stories.
They were made up on the fly,
bathed in sugar coating or
never told at all because of shame.
That’s why I never did high-school reunions.

--

--

Richard A. Steele
Put It To Rest

Writer of science fiction and transgressive tales. Trying to improve his vibration one wavelength at a time while working on his first novel.