Opposition

A poem about refusing to let anything rob you of your happiness in life, no matter how hard things may seem. It’s a ‘stand up’ for peace.

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest
2 min readMay 24, 2023

--

Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

Walking in the sunshine
which turns to rain
Picking a flower to smell
which reeks of fertilizer
Running errands
to do something nice
for the one you love
only to have someone
completely minimize
your existence

Sadness grabs for your happiness
Anxiety clutches at your peace
Maddening opposition
when all you want
is the pleasure of
treasuring the simple things
that life has to offer
I refuse to fight a war
which only exists
to exhaust me

My happiness, my peace
It is mine
You cannot ruin it!
You cannot take it!
I say this to the
spiritual and physical
in life
These things cost me
everything to get
and I will not roll over
and let anything take it
This…is my opposition…
to YOU!

Desiree Batiste is the author of “The Shaping of a Diamond”, a self-published journey through surviving abuse, domestic violence and more told through poems, which is available for purchase on Amazon. Find her on Medium, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok or on her website. Desiree Batiste ©2023.

--

--

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest

Author of "The Shaping of a Diamond". She is a survivor of child abuse and domestic violence who is passionate about writing and currently lives in Buckeye, AZ.