Seeing Into the Darkness

We both know you don’t want to hear how I’m really doing.

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

--

Photo Credit: Jackie Lee Sommers

Sitting alone in the dark,
Too terrified to close my eyes
I’m shaken to my core.

Besieged by my demons once again,
They have crept up from deep within my soul,
To torment me relentlessly.

The horrors of the past,
They no longer seem a lifetime ago
I am back in the suck.

Angst coursing through my veins like an amphetamine
The time dilates,
Aging me faster than everyone else.

The whooshing sounds droning in my ears,
As my heart rages inside my chest,
The caged beast, trying to escape.

The omnipresent blackness of the night,
Concealing all those terrible things,
That only I can see.

A deafening cacophony of screaming inside my head
The worst of which are the children’s,
They’re eternally etched onto my brain.

I wish desperately to forget,
To erase it all,
The vice tightens, and my life is forever held in Hell.

Copyright © 2022 Chris Patton

Thank you for reading! I often do my writing in my favorite little coffee shop. I would be very grateful if you would consider supporting my writing by buying me a coffee! ko-fi.com/chrispatton1145

Click here if you would like to read more from Chris Patton.

--

--

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

I write authentically about my journey with PTSD so that others may benefit from my experience. I also write about love and longing.