September

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest
Published in
2 min readMay 15, 2023

--

A poem about a bipolar person’s loved one sorting out their feelings after experiencing their loved one’s behavior during a manic episode.

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

September is tainted
so devastated, I fainted
Fall to my knees in agony
This isn’t how it was meant to be!

I tried so hard not to believe
the words hurled at me that did cleave
my heart in two, murdering my love
I cried out for help from the heavens above

“Help him!” I begged aloud
“He is trapped in an evil shroud
Save his soul, save his mind
I love him so…I can’t leave him behind.”

Now that he’s been saved
The road to healing has been paved
but the one thing I still can’t disguise
is my doubt of what lies behind those eyes

I ask and ask…do you love me?
Just trying to remove evil memories
It’s not that I doubt the love is there
as I lay here with my soul laid bare

Please tell me the darkness is gone!
Tell me that I did nothing wrong
I don’t want to spend decades getting older
being tortured with shades of bipolar

Desiree Batiste is the author of “The Shaping of a Diamond”, a self-published journey through surviving abuse, domestic violence and more told through poems, which is available for purchase on Amazon. Find her on Medium, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok or on her website. Desiree Batiste ©2023.

--

--

Desiree Batiste
Put It To Rest

Author of "The Shaping of a Diamond". She is a survivor of child abuse and domestic violence who is passionate about writing and currently lives in Buckeye, AZ.