Stop Hiding In Your Mind, That Place Is a Field of Land Mines

A poem on unraveling

Colleen Killingsworth
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by author.

I don’t know what I’ve become
I’m unraveled and undone
And the semblance I once had
Of a beautiful, glowing girl
Has turned into the mad
Vicious, and resentful image
Of a voided dream

I am the tormented queen
Of my skull-sized kingdom
Locked somewhere between
Waking nightmares and my dreams
And I don’t know how to breach the gap

This hapless
Hollowed mess
Is my day to day

These days,
I’m a success when I don’t break
And that’s a realization that’s hard to take

I used to feel like there was endless potential
Now hopelessness is crippling in its devotion

There is nothing quite like the feeling
That you will never stop reeling
Backward into the darkest recesses of your mind

--

--

Colleen Killingsworth
Put It To Rest

Obsessed with examining all facets of the human experience//There is no spoon. Formerly at Fox TV Stations & @Timeline_Now.