The Birds of Death

Hearing his voice, a pleasant haunting

Rebecca N. Herz
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by Casey Allen on Unsplash

Staring up at the vultures I am dumb with boredom
Pleading with them to return him to life

His voice is a cawing
a clawing inside my skull

My name comes from his
These days the words stretch out

Upon the loom as a scarf
Unfurls down my chest

Winter’s here again

The vultures arrive in thick flocks
Through my mind on repeat

The whirring concurring with my pain
What can be worse than losing love?

He’s gone.

The birds in my head leave me numb
Their ever-fluttering matches the inner chaos

Left by his passing

Why all this talk of birds in skulls? It’s death
That falls and falls and falls

Unlike leaves, unlike pine needles

Not feathers
Entire wings

Intact

Fresh from flight

These are the dreams
That haunt (delight) me at night

Rebecca Herz

--

--