The Desert Lands

Free Verse

Justin Farley
Put It To Rest
2 min readApr 21, 2021

--

Image by Pezibear from Pixabay

Desert sands sift through my hands.
Moments of time lost, left behind.
How do I go on without a song
in the depths of my heart without falling apart?
Dear God, this torture with unforeseeable closure…
Sky’s permanently dark without fire, match, or spark.
Here we go again — seized by panic for hours on end.
Moods like the tide ebbing, flowing uncontrollably inside.
Contemplating defeat beneath the sweltering heat
of life, seemingly endless strife.

But no. I’ll split the night with an internal light.
Even if the endless sea waits for me
to swallow, to drown, to take me down
I’ll go thrashing, kicking but never helplessly sinking.
I choose to live. I choose to give
all of me to seek hope, to seize victory.
To embrace the pain. To embrace my brain
the way it is and stop chasing after permanent bliss.

I accept my battles; they’ll never keep me forever shackled.
I will live to see the sun. I won’t stop until it’s done.
Goodnight, fair moon. I’m done singing your tune.
Because woe is me will never set me free.
I will, I can, despite the limitations of the man
who walks through the desert lands.

© 2021. Justin Farley. All Rights Reserved.

Find Justin Farley’s poetry chapbook on Amazon

Follow him on Medium , Instagram , and Facebook.

Put It To Rest is a new publication looking for first-person stories and poems pertaining to mental health:

--

--

Justin Farley
Put It To Rest

Justin Farley is a writer and poet from Indianapolis, Indiana. He enjoys writing inspirational pieces on mental health, addiction, and spiritual matters.