The Tides of PTSD

A poem about the onset of PTSD flashbacks.

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

--

Photo Credit: Matt Power — Unsplash

Feelings and emotions that have been stuffed and stifled for years,
Manifested as pain, resonating deep within me,
Tears have burned tracks down my cheeks.

A relentless pain pounds at my soul,
Like the crushing blows from breaking waves, I’m pushed ever deeper,
Held underwater for an eternity, unable to breathe, I’m drowning.

In vain, I attempt to stay in the present moment,
As the world around me turns opaque.
I’m paralyzed, and my muscles are refusing to cooperate.

The bitterly cold winter breeze,
Has stolen my breath a thousand times over,
And as I pass by you, it’s only as a whisper through the dead branches of old trees.

Copyright © 2023 Chris Patton

Thank you for reading this story. You can read more of my work on Medium by clicking here.

I often do my writing in my favorite little coffee shop. I would be grateful if you could support my writing by buying me a coffee at ko-fi.com/chrispatton1145. Thank you!

--

--

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

I write authentically about my journey with PTSD so that others may benefit from my experience. I also write about love and longing.