Put It To Rest: Poetry Month Challenge

Truth Teller

a poem

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest
Published in
2 min readApr 6, 2023

--

Photo by Anete Lūsiņa on Unsplash

I don’t need
anyone to validate
my words
as if to stamp
each letter
pause, and period
because
poetry is still poetry
whether published
in the New Yorker
or tucked away
in an abandoned journal
in a sock drawer

When I’m the one
who lived the experience
whether the truth unfolded
linear or nonlinear
or I told it
backward or forward
sideways or upside down
does not change
what happened

So take care of you
and be well

Sorry, not sorry
that my story
forces you
to change your life story
but that’s none of my concern.

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson