We Met At The Beach

I pulled my phone out of the gym locker with an excited stirring

Melissa Steussy
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by Timo Stern on Unsplash

I asked you to coffee and you said you were seeing someone
That you wouldn’t feel right about it

I felt my heart drop
But jumped on the treadmill anyway

We hadn’t met but had talked on the phone and had some chemistry
Dating had been hard and I was looking for the end

Here I lay 14 years later
With the love of my life

We’ve been in survival mode
Since those first few months
Of heavenly bliss

We parked your car to make out
You snuck over to “watch movies” on my couch

We said I love you soon after meeting
And my hand fit perfectly in yours

I’d never been with a man like you
And your caring heart was overwhelming
I didn’t know how to be attended to

It felt uncomfortable for someone to respect me
And like me for me

But soon, I talked you into taking it further
And a child was created after our first…

--

--

Melissa Steussy
Put It To Rest

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....