Wounded

I had no idea how much pain I was in.

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

--

Photo Credit: Mila Kreuz — Unsplash

The hits continued to come
With each devastating blow delivered
The impacts reverberated deeper
Permanently imprinting themselves on my psyche

Like toxic seawater in my lungs
And starving me of precious oxygen
Suffocating the pleasures of life from me

My time here is borrowed
Like floating in a dark and unknown sea
Soon, I’ll slip under the water
And never surface again

I never knew how badly I’d been wounded
Unseen and damaged beyond repair
A warrior’s soul fights to survive

A part of me now
I will wear these ugly scars forever
I only want to be whole again

I’ve tried to hide them
But everyone still sees
Just not me.

Copyright © 2022 Chris Patton

Thank you for reading! I often do my writing in my favorite little coffee shop. I would be very grateful if you would consider supporting my writing by buying me a coffee! ko-fi.com/chrispatton1145

Click here if you would like to read more from Chris Patton.

--

--

Chris Patton
Put It To Rest

I write authentically about my journey with PTSD so that others may benefit from my experience. I also write about love and longing.